Trafford MV shortlisted for Gallagher rugby club of the season

Trafford MV in action

Insurance broker and risk management specialist Gallagher, the title partner of Premiership Rugby, has today launched the public vote for its inaugural Rugby Club of the Season, with Trafford MV RFCC among the six grassroots finalists.

The Gallagher ‘Rugby Club of the Season’ competition celebrates and rewards local grassroots clubs that are making a significant contribution to their local community, on and off-the-pitch

. Particular focus is placed on how clubs can demonstrate their inclusivity in providing access to and opportunities in rugby across age, gender, ethnicity and ability, as well as the innovative ways in which they are increasing participation in the sport at grassroots level.

Trafford MV, based in Sale, has been selected as one of the six finalists as a result of its engagement with the local community and businesses, for launching one of the first walking rugby teams for over 50s, and for the strong mutually beneficial links it has built with local universities that are helping it fulfil its ambition to create a sustainable women’s team.

Each of the finalists are paired with a Gallagher Premiership Rugby club from their region and rugby fans up and down the country can now vote for their winner from the following six clubs:

  • Battersea Ironsides (Harlequins)
  • Erdington RFC (Wasps Rugby)
  • Haringey Rhinos Ladies (London Irish)
  • Kingsbridge RFC (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Longlevens RFC (Gloucester Rugby)
  • Trafford MV RFCC (Sale Sharks)

Click here to go to the voting page, voting closes on Sunday 13th September 

To mark each of the clubs reaching the final stage, Gallagher hosted a series of Zoom calls which saw club representatives set out to Gallagher ambassadors Ugo Monye & Danielle ‘Nolli’ Waterman why they deserve to win. Sale Sharks captain Jono Ross made a special guest appearance during the Trafford MV video call as he surprised the club to wish them luck in the final round of the competition.

Nathan Earle (Harlequins), Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby), Ben Loader (London Irish), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs), Tom O’Flaherty (Exeter Chiefs) and Jack Willis (Wasps Rugby) also took part in their affiliated clubs’ interviews by intercepting the Zoom call to surprise each of the finalists.

The public vote hosted on the Gallagher website will contribute to the overall result, with rugby legends Ugo and Nolli, and representatives from Gallagher and Premiership Rugby all also contributing votes.

Ugo Moyne, Gallagher ambassador, said“It has been inspiring meeting all of the clubs and shining a light on the impactful work they have been doing within their communities – Gallagher has chosen six fantastic finalists. Grassroots rugby has gone through a tough period over the last few months and the inaugural Gallagher Rugby Club of the Season Award will give a much-needed boost to all six clubs. Get voting for your winner!”

Categories: Uncategorized